Free business bank account: what £0 a month really gets you

A free business bank account usually means one thing: no monthly fee. It rarely means you'll never pay anything. Transfers over an allowance, cash deposits and card spending abroad can all carry a charge. This guide explains what "free" covers, sets out the £0 plans we track side by side, and shows how to spot the charge that matters for your business.

By the Business Account Review editorial team · checked 25 October 2026 · How we check

What a free business bank account actually means

When a provider calls something a free business bank account, it's talking about the plan price. You don't pay a monthly or annual fee to keep the account open. Everyday basics, like UK card payments, are often free too.

What changes between providers is everything around that £0. One account might give you unlimited UK transfers but charge for every cash deposit. Another might include cash at a lower cost but limit how many transfers you can make before a fee kicks in. So two free business bank accounts can leave you with very different bills.

The useful question isn't "is it free?" It's "what will I pay, given how I actually use my account?" A free business bank account is a good deal when the charges it does have fall on things you rarely do.

Charges that still apply on a £0 plan

On every free business bank account we looked at, the same handful of charges come up. Here's what to look for:

Transfer allowance
Some free business bank accounts include a set number of UK transfers each month, then charge per payment. Tide counts transfers in and out; Zempler counts payments you send.
Cash deposits
Paying in notes and coins at the Post Office or PayPoint almost always costs something, either a flat fee or a percentage.
Card spending abroad
Some free business bank accounts add a percentage to payments in other currencies. Others use the card scheme's rate with no extra fee.
Same-day high-value payments
CHAPS payments usually carry a fee, even on accounts that make Faster Payments free.
Features behind a paywall
On a free business bank account, invoicing, tax pots or accounting connections may need a paid upgrade.

Our guide to business bank account fees goes through each charge you might meet on a free business bank account in more depth, with a method for estimating a typical month.

Every free business bank account we track, side by side

Six of the accounts we compare offer a free business bank account plan. The figures below come from each provider's own pricing pages and fee documents, checked on 25 October 2026. Wise Business isn't included because it charges a one-off £50 set-up fee, and Revolut Business plans start at £10 a month.

Free business bank account plans compared (providers' own pages, checked 25 October 2026)
AccountUK transfersCash depositCard spending abroadProtection
Tide Free5 a month in or out, then 20p eachPost Office £2.50 up to £500, 0.99% over; PayPoint 3%2.75% feeFSCS via ClearBank
StarlingFaster Payments freePost Office 0.7%, minimum £3No Starling fee; Mastercard rate appliesFSCS (UK bank)
Monzo Business LiteFree UK payments£1 per deposit, PayPoint or Post Office£0 on card paymentsFSCS (UK bank)
MettleFree UK transfersPost Office £2.75 per depositNot stated by MettleFSCS (NatWest)
Zempler Business Go3 free a month, then 35pPost Office £4 minimum or 0.55%2.99% non-sterling feeFSCS (UK bank)
ANNA FreeUnlimited out; incoming free up to £1,000 a month, then 0.95%PayPoint, 1% per depositNot stated on pricing pageE-money, safeguarded

Notice the protection column. Five of these free business bank accounts hold your money with a bank, so eligible deposits are covered by the FSCS up to £120,000. ANNA's main account is an e-money account, where money is safeguarded instead. Our guide to bank vs e-money accounts explains the difference. For the full list, including paid accounts, see compare business bank accounts.

The catch on each £0 plan

Every free business bank account has a trade-off. None is hidden, but each sits in a different place:

  • Tide Free: the 5-transfer allowance includes money coming in, so a busy month of client payments uses it up quickly. CHAPS costs £15, and there's a 2.75% fee on card payments in other currencies. Invoicing is limited to 3 a month.
  • Starling: CHAPS costs £20 a payment, cash deposits cost 0.7% with a £3 minimum, and there's no interest on the main account balance. Arranged overdrafts are for limited companies only.
  • Monzo Business Lite: invoicing, Tax Pots and accounting software connections need the Pro plan, from £9 a month. Cash withdrawals outside the EEA cost 3% once you pass £200 in a rolling 30 days.
  • Mettle: each cash deposit costs £2.75 and each cash withdrawal £1. There are no outbound international payments, and only one person can access the account.
  • Zempler Business Go: just 3 free transfers before the 35p charge starts, £2 per UK ATM withdrawal and £3 abroad, and a 2.99% fee on card spending in other currencies.
  • ANNA Free: the 0.95% charge on incoming money over £1,000 a month can add up if most of your income lands in this account. The main account isn't FSCS-protected.

One condition is easy to miss: Mettle includes FreeAgent accounting software at no cost only if you make at least one transaction a month from your Mettle account.

Matching a £0 plan to how you work

The easiest way to choose a free business bank account is to start with the thing you do most. A free business bank account that's generous where you're busy and strict where you're quiet will cost you very little.

1

Lots of UK payments

If you send and receive dozens of transfers, look first at a free business bank account that doesn't charge for UK transfers, such as Starling, Monzo Lite or Mettle. A per-transfer charge on a small allowance can soon outweigh a monthly fee elsewhere.

2

Regular cash

Compare the deposit charge at the amounts you usually pay in. A flat £1 or £2.75 suits larger deposits; a percentage suits small ones. On a £2,000 deposit, 0.7% is £14, while a flat £2.75 stays £2.75.

3

Spending abroad

If you buy from overseas suppliers by card, a 2.75% or 2.99% fee on a free business bank account is the charge most likely to bite. On £400 a month, 2.75% is £11.

4

Invoicing and tax tools

Check which tools come with the free business bank account itself. Starling and Mettle include invoicing; Tide includes 3 invoices a month; Monzo puts invoicing on Pro.

If you're a sole trader still deciding whether you need a separate account at all, our guide do sole traders need a business bank account? covers what GOV.UK says.

When a paid plan earns its keep

A free business bank account isn't always the lowest-cost choice for every business. A paid plan is worth it when it removes more in charges than it costs, or adds a tool you'd otherwise buy separately. Some examples from providers' own pricing:

Removing a charge

Tide Smart costs £12.49 a month and removes the 2.75% card fee abroad. If you'd spend around £455 or more a month in other currencies, the fee on Free would cost more than the plan. Zempler Business Extra, at £9 a month, also makes card spending abroad fee-free and adds 20 free transfers.

Adding a tool

Mettle+ costs £4 a month and adds quotes you can turn into invoices. Monzo Pro, at £9 a month, adds invoicing, Tax Pots and accounting integrations, and Monzo says your first month is free.

Before you upgrade, check whether VAT is added: ANNA shows paid prices plus VAT, while Tide's plan pages say it won't charge VAT.

The Tide Free plan

Tide is our featured partner. Its Free plan has no monthly fee and includes a Mastercard debit card, Payment Links, Tap to Pay on your phone, Making Tax Digital tools and 3 invoices a month. Eligible deposits are held with ClearBank, a UK bank, and covered by the FSCS. You can read how that works in is Tide safe?

As a free business bank account, it suits you if you make a handful of transfers a month and rarely pay in other currencies. If you do more, the per-item charges add up, and our Tide fees guide works through examples so you can see the point where Smart costs less.

New to Tide? Code STARTUP200 can earn up to £200 cashback: £75 after £100 card spend in 30 days, plus £125 for holding £5,000 in an Instant Saver for 30 days*. *T&Cs apply

Open a Tide account

Tide is our featured partner. We may earn commission from referrals. Disclosure

Checklist before you choose

Before you open a free business bank account, check you can tick these off:

  • I've counted my UK transfers for a typical month, both in and out.
  • I know how often I pay in cash and the usual amount.
  • I know roughly what I spend by card in other currencies.
  • I've checked whether I'll need CHAPS or international payments.
  • I've checked which tools (invoicing, tax pots, accounting links) sit on the £0 plan.
  • I've checked whether my money is FSCS-protected or safeguarded.
  • I've read the provider's current fee page, because charges change.

Free business bank account FAQs

Is a free business bank account really free?

There's no monthly fee, but per-item charges still apply. Cash deposits, transfers beyond an allowance, CHAPS payments and card spending abroad are the usual ones. Check the fee page against your own month.

Which UK business accounts have no monthly fee?

Of the accounts we track, Tide (Free plan), Starling, Monzo Business (Lite), Mettle, Zempler Bank (Business Go) and ANNA (Free plan) all had a £0 plan when we checked on 25 October 2026.

Are free accounts protected like paid ones?

Protection depends on who holds your money, not on the plan price. Accounts held with a bank are covered by the FSCS for eligible deposits up to £120,000. E-money accounts are safeguarded instead.

Can I switch from a free plan to a paid one later?

Usually, yes. Most providers let you move from a free business bank account to a paid plan in the app. Check whether a free first month applies.

Is there a free business bank account with free cash deposits?

None of the six £0 plans we checked offered free cash deposits. The charges range from a flat £1 per deposit to percentages with minimums, so compare them at the amounts you pay in.

Sources